Onattukara Spices Farmer Producer Company inaugurated


               The Onattukara Spices Farmer Producer Company Limited (OSFPCL), promoted by ICAR-KVK-Alappuzha and funded by NABARD, was inaugurated by Sri. G Sudhakaran, Minister of Public works and Registration, Govt. of Kerala in an auspicious function conducted at Kattanam on 21.07.2017. The Minister also released the products of the company- turmeric powder and whole pepper – on the occasion. Prof. V. Vasudevan, President, Bharanikkavu Grama panchayath presided over the function. Dr. P. Muralidharan, Principal Scientist and Head, briefed about the formation and activities of OSFPCL. Mr. C. Sunder, CGM, NABARAD gave away the share certificates to the share holders and delivered the key note address. Smt. Rajini Jaidev, President, Bharanikkavu Block Panchayath and Managing Director of OSFPCL, Dr. V Krishnakumar, Head, CPCRI (RS), Kayamkulam, and Mr. Rajeev M S, Subject Matter Specialist, ICAR-KVK-Alappuzha addressed the audience. Mr. P Ashokan Nair, President, Nooranad grama panchayath, Smt. Omana Vijayan, President, Palamel Grama panchayath, Smt. V. Geetha, President Thamarakulam Grama panchayath, Smt. Santha Gopalakrishnan, President, Chunakkara Grama panchayath, Smt. Sreeja Kumary, Member, Bharanikkavu grama panchayath, and Sri Reghunathamn Pillai, DDM, NABARD were present in the programme. A booklet on ‘Cultivation and processing of ginger and turmeric’ was released by the guests on the occasion. About 200 persons including majority of the shareholder farmers actively participated in the programme.

           The OSFPCL is one among the 105 FPOs in Kerala, incorporated under the Companies Act as part of the Govt. of India’s initiative to promote and support farmer’s organizations. The company aims to facilitate the farmers of Alappuzha district to increase the profitability of cultivation of major spice crops in the district viz., turmeric, ginger, pepper and Garcinia. With initial focus on six panchayaths of Bharanikkavu block, the company plans to spread its activities to the entire district in due course. 225 farmers have become share holders of the company with a share capital of Rs. 2.61 lakhs as on date.

IMG_5686 IMG-20170722-WA0031 IMG_5700 IMG-20170722-WA0034